So I am considering a career as a nurse anesthetist. A little bit about my background:

I have been a paramedic for five years. I have been functioning as a critical care paramedic for three years, two of them in a Level 1 trauma center and one in the field as critical care transport. Now when I say functioning I mean a paramedic's full scope of practice including intubation and rapid sequence induction. I thoroughly enjoy caring for critical patients especially ones that are on ventilators / sedated / etc... There's just something about the type of thinking one has to do (adjusting sedation levels, monitoring cardiac output via CO2 and adjusting vent settings to maintain certain homeostatic values, etc...) that I find intellectually stimulating and challenging. It truly is *FUN* to me. I have a Bachelor's degree in Biology with minor in Chemistry (3.3 gpa counting that alone, factor in relevant classes I took after graduation and it is 3.5).

I got into medical school but decided not to go for several reasons I won't go into. But, needless to say I am looking at my other options. At one point I was considering PA school however when I found that there were very few PA's practicing in anesthesia and it was hard for them to (I think because of state laws and other legal matters) it really turned me off to it.