Hi everyone...I am new to the site so be easy on me as I still have a ton of research to do on the questions I am about to ask and CRNA info. in general.

I am in my third semester of nursing school and in Dec. I will be graduating with my ADN. I have recently started considering becoming a CRNA but before I get too far in making plans for this, I want to know from you if you think I even have a chance or if should choose a different path.

Looking back, I wasn't thrilled about nursing school when I first started. I didn't know what becoming a nurse was really all about. So, I didn't enjoy my first and second semesters that much. I didn't study like I should have and slacked off, quite honestly. (This earned me 2 C's for nursing. However, I did well in all my science classes that I took as pre-reqs with an A in Micro and a B in Anatomy.) I am now into my third semester and I am realizing just how lucky I am to have stumbled onto this great career choice. The options for jobs and different career paths really excites me. I have started applying myself and I am loving every minute of the process. Fingers crossed, I will be done in Dec. and then I can move onto my BSN.

One career path I am considering is becoming a CRNA. Right now, with my GPA hoving at 3.0, the lowest it has been (usually I am around a 3.4-3.7), I am worried about getting into CRNA school. I have a little over 2 semesters to get my GPA up in the ADN program. If I do this and then do really well in the BSN program, will I have a chance of being considered for CRNA school or have my first two semesters of nursing school screwed me for life?

Also, considering that I didn't go right for my BSN, I will be working while earning my BSN. I am thinking of working in the NICU. Does this qualify as the critical care experience they want you to have or do I have to work on a regular ICU floor? I am hoping to go into pediatric anesthesia so that is one reason I would like NICU experience.