Threaded View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Level
    Downloads
    Uploads

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Should I transfer ICUs?

Hey everybody!

I'm finishing up some courses, and my GPA is finally > 3.1 (200+ units) with my last 120 and 60 units >3.4, BSN 3.6 (Cum Laude honors), CCRN, taking CMC, GRE 303 (1130 old scoring), analytical writing 5.0, I rotate as the hospital's designated rapid response/code nurse, and I'm on a committee. I'm getting ready to apply to multiple schools within the next year or two. I did however put in one app just to get familiar with the process and see what happens, but I digress...

I've been working in a medical ICU for a year and a half now at a county hospital trauma center with the second busiest ED in our state. I have 3 years of ICU step down experience as well, and work in the float pool at a different hospital and float to ICU, ED, psych, and the floors. Our hospital is busy and always has a high census. ICU patients go wherever there is an open bed. We have two ICUs: a MICU and SICU which are basically connected, but with different managers. We have a mixed patient population with medical, surgical, traumas, and neurosurg patients. Our pt population is very indigent, so we get SICK patients. No STEMIs or open hearts though. We do get NSTEMIs. I like where I work, and love my coworkers. It truly is a mixed ICU...We have a lot of experienced nurses in MICU who are willing to teach and are a lot of fun to work with. Our SICU is full of new grads.