Hi all! I've been on this forum for a while and mostly read (cause I can't post in most forums)...

I have a serious debate going on with myself right now. I have been working in a level III Neonatal ICU for the last 2 1/2 years. This past January, I started working in a CVICU in a major teaching hospital in the Texas Medical Center (one of the two biggies for heart surgery). Things are going fine, I've been off orientation since the middle of April.

However..... I had to take a major cut in pay (lost $6/hr) to take this position because I had been working on a weekend contract in the NICU. This is already affecting our finances at home and I have at least another 1 1/2 years before I apply to CRNA school, so another 2 years of work (assuming I can get in somewhere!). My husband lost his job in March and was out of work for about a month (set us back a little, but we were fine) but took a contract position for less money and is already hearing that the company he works for will not be renewing contracts for the current prices - they will be enforcing pay cuts to anyone that renews their contracts.